Going Hippie On Ya Here

We got some troubling news about the shop just before we left for our trip (that we will share with you as soon as we can) and I was having a really hard time with it.  As I was driving home from work, I was trying hard not to cry and each time I got close to tears, I saw a hawk on the side of the road.

Side note: If you don’t know Joel and I are bird nerds yet, now you do.  His totem animal is an Osprey and mine is a Great Blue Heron. We love all animals, but birds are cool as shit! 😛 Whenever we travel the thruway (New York Interstate 90) we “hunt for hawks.” For some reason they always hang out around this corridor looking for dinner and Joel and I love to find them perched in trees, on fences, or even on road signs.   We really love to catch them in action as they swoop down to get dinner.

Anyway.  As I was driving home in a pretty low spot I kept seeing the hawks.  Now I am only on the Thruway for a few miles so I usually see about 3 on a good day.  This one afternoon I saw 7.  I even saw 3 right near each other (which is not very common) when I was really getting worked up.  I knew that they were trying to tell me something so I took some deep breaths and just said thank you to them.  When I got home, I told my mother about my drive and she looked up the meaning.  One of the sites she found said:

“When Hawk swoops into your life be ready for a whole new level of awareness developing in your mind and spirit. He signals a time in your life when you need to focus on what’s ahead and prepare for a leadership role. Your global vision is a potent helpmate in this. Just as the Hawk, you are ready to fly higher than ever before.” (I trimmed this down a bit to make it more concise.)

And it all made sense. Each time I was about to wallow in sadness, a hawk swooped into view to tell me that this is not something to cry over. This is just another obstacle in this insane process that we can over come as long as we stay focused and prepare ourselves.

So I may still have done a bit of wallowing when I got home, but I am not discouraged any longer, just focused.

Cheers!

One thought on “Going Hippie On Ya Here

  1. That is exciting! And see, things are working out now!
    Another one to add to your repertoire is “give it 3 days” (from a friends’ pastor’s sermon)
    Positive energy, white light and prayers are coming your way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

